was trying to put an asmo belt away after I did not get in the cania party... as I dragged.. I dunno.. lag or a hiccup happened... and I lost my asmo belt and crappy sissy torch which I have never even used...
I would be happy to get it (the belt at least) back... anyway we can just have artis fall on the ground when you have 2 instead of boom? this kinda thing happens alot in my storage chests, luckily I am not in my arti chest often.
it was computer error... why in the world would I want to grab a sissy torch on a demi monk (ok or ever really)? I really don't use the asmo belt, but I am thinking due to issues as what happened to me, the 2 arti go boom is outdated and can only hurt the server. If you made them forcefully drop instead it would serve the same purpose and not punish a player when something happens inexplicably
It's not computer error, though - there's a way to be 100% certain you banked an item, and that's to look for the 'Lost Item: X' in your combat log. If you see that, that confirms without doubt that the item is in the chest.
I guess I was not clear... I was not trying to grab the torch... I was trying to grab the belt... suddenly (not sure if lag or just my computer cause this has happened to me more than once) the icon holding the belt let go (thus dropping the belt back into my inventory) and grabbed the torch (which I was not trying to grab, nor ever would)
I had just gotten the belt with hopes of doing the shouted cania (the one HS shouted and QT and kaez were on). I missed the cut and was only trying to put the belt back away when this happened.
so the question is not did star already have a banked artifact on her... it was a simultaneous action that I did not intend
The bottom line is that regardless of what your computer did, the Sstadi S'benat was withdrawn from the bank while the belt was still in your inventory, as the screenshot indicates. I'm sorry for your loss (if I had a belt I would happily lend it to you), but we cannot bend the rules on this.
but this still does not address the issue. What happened was not user error. I don't know if it was lag, a bad mouse, or just bad karma, but the 'boom' effect seems a tad too much because of things like what just happened. Not every issue is someone trying to exploit. So I ask, (is funky on vacation???) can we change it to forcing you to drop both artifacts? Works the same way... can't have 2 on you but this way when something bizarre like this happens, you can fix it easily and don't have to lose an item you played 4+ hours for.
so you x5 demi's might not care but I rarely have time to do nessus and so have very few demis and asmo arti's to spare when something like this happens.
To clarify a little more, there's something of a hierarchy of loss:
Server Error - when the problem happens on the Higher Ground servers or database. This is clearly our fault, and the DM team will do as much as possible to reconstruct your loss and fix whatever errors there are.
Client Error (including network errors) - these happen on the network or your local computer, which we have no control over. While less 'at fault' than the below two categories, the DM team doesn't normally have discretion to reimburse in these cases, so losses must be petitioned directly to Funky.
User Error - when the server, network, and client are functioning properly, but you do something unwise (such as leave your Holy Bacon on the floor of Rip's unattended) and lose it. Only Funky has discretion to reimburse at this level.
Gameplay - if you die in-game and fugue an item, or don't bother to identify an artifact and pick it up and get an explosion, that's the natural course of events. Again, only Funky has discretion to reimburse at this level.
Malice - the reason for the entire hierarchy and the policies is that, obviously, we don't want to reimburse people who are maliciously attempting exploits.
Objectively, your loss falls into either Client Error or User Error (I don't think anyone would impute malice in your case, and although Gameplay is the direct category for an artifact loss, you being banking and obviously having identified the item raise it to the above two). Since only Funky can reimburse in those cases, you need to petition him.
On the other hand, I'll discuss the possibility of having artifact bouncing for bankchests (or even in No PVP areas) similar to the market chests (where it will go back into the chest if you can't pick it up). Funky and the team may or may not agree with doing so, but it's technically possible. The explosion almost certainly will not go away for other cases, though.
Funky's been extremely busy with real life work, but I will draw his attention to this thread next time I get a chance to talk to him.
However, if you look at the range of possible causes of errors set down by acaos, you'll see that there's simply no way for us to distinguish between them, in many cases, including yours. We have to apply the same standard to all players, or it would be unfair. That means that we cannot simply say 'oh, it's star, she must be telling the truth', relying on your word as to what happened. We need to be able to discern what happened from the logs, in order to replace anything, and confirm that it was in fact a bug. The reason for that is simple: any other system would open us to either a) charges of favoritism or b) exploitation. So, while not every instance is a case of attempted exploitation, fairness demands that we treat them as such, requiring log verification to replace.
I really don't use the asmo belt, but I am thinking due to issues as what happened to me, the 2 arti go boom is outdated and can only hurt the server.
What's happened to outdate it? Nothing I can think of. Nor would blocking having two artis accomplish the same goals. Yes, it would prevent the use of two artifacts simultaneously, but if that were the only goal, that's how it would've been scripted to begin with - see, for example, the new ego items. Another major goal is item attrition, which helps shore up item value, and simply blocking double artifact acquisition doesn't do a thing to help with that.
In any event, I'm fine with blocking double arti acquisition in the bank, to prevent mishaps, so we'll put that in, at least.